Skip to content

How To Treat Your Studio Help: A Message from Kirk’s Art Assistant

November 18, 2013

Today I’m turning my blog over to one of my studio assistants. At the risk of incriminating myself, I’ve asked Brooke to tell us what makes for a good employment experience for a studio assistant or intern. Here’s Brooke:

Brooke working on Triumphal Entry in the studio.

Brooke working on Triumphal Entry in the studio.

Brooke:

Hello! My name is Brooke Mann, and I just graduated from Brigham Young University majoring in Illustration. I’ve been working part time here with Kirk in his studio for about 7 months now, and I have really loved it. Let me tell you what makes it most enjoyable for me . . .

1. A Variety of Projects

Obviously, any person who chooses to work as an assistant to an artist does so because he or she loves art. And I do! I love it. It is so fun for me to work in a place surrounded by beautiful art – paintings, drawings, sculptures, and book illustrations. School was a great place to keep learning and keep getting inspired, but work provides a place for that now. It’s great to be around art that inspires me and teaches me about what I can do better. Artists are always encouraged to look at new art, study the masters, visit galleries, find out what they like and don’t like, etc.

Professor Monstro, by Brooke Malia Mann

Professor Monstro, by Brooke Malia Mann

If you want to keep your art assistants happy, expose them to all sorts of art projects. Most human beings I know love variety. We love broadening our horizons, learning new skills, and trying new things. It makes us feel good and well-rounded. I love it when Kirk has me doing all sorts of things, not just art. I’ve learned how to edit video and prepare artwork by working with wood instance! (I feel seriously cool now that I’m a girl who can work saws and lots of tools.) I struggle a little when I am doing the same, tedious assignment all day.

2. Learning and Practicing New Skills

Another wonderful thing is the practice. Kirk lets me work on paintings before he puts on the finishing touches. He also lets me sketch them out at the beginning and then clean up and prepare digital files at the end. All of this is wonderful practice that may be a little different from what I do on my own art at home. Artists have to be constantly (seriously constantly!) practicing to keep their skills up. The more you practice, the more naturally it comes and the skills get engraved into you. For example, honestly, I used to struggle with photoshop because I didn’t use it broadly enough. However, since working here, I’ve been practicing so much that I don’t think I will soon forget how to use the tools. I feel very confident with it.

Brooke adding gold leaf to a series of Angels for the Beehive Bazaar

Brooke adding gold leaf to a series of Angels for the Beehive Bazaar

3. Give Feedback

Teach us and give us advice. Sure, it’s good to let us ask questions, but we don’t always know what questions to ask! You have great value because of your experience. We want to learn from you. Kirk is a nice guy and always compliments what I do. I would be happy to hear some critiques from him every once in a while. If he told me what I could be doing better or if he said, “try it like this,” then that would also be preparing me for the harshness of the real world. [“Side note–sorry Brooke. I’ll work on that.” – Kirk]

4. Connections and Opportunity

Enabling me in my own career makes me motivated and excited to work for my boss’s career. I love my job. Kirk asked me what he could do to help me and I mentioned publicity. One of his suggestions was this blog post, which helps both of us. Hopefully some of the information here will help you too.

brooke's

Illustration by Brooke Malia Mann


Here’s a link to my own art. It’s very different from Kirk’s (I do almost purely stuff for kids), but I think that’s why work doesn’t burn me out. Please take a look! And of course, keep following Kirk too.

Brooke Mann
brookemalia.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2013 8:56 pm

    Great post…your thoughts are applicable to internships in all fields.

  2. Johna218 permalink
    August 3, 2014 8:58 pm

    Good web site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day! egckcfdfbcge

  3. Johnb446 permalink
    August 3, 2014 8:59 pm

    Very informative article post.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic. dakccefgdgeb

Trackbacks

  1. Working As a Studio Assistant | The Art of Brooke Malia Mann

Leave a Reply

