Skip to content

Why I Stopped Blogging

August 24, 2012

Instagram. Yes. I’ve been distracted by Instagram. If you don’t know what Instagram is, it’s a way to take and share photos. But the reason it has distracted me so much lately is the ease with which one can take a photo and group it with other specific photos using a hash tag. What does that translate into for me? Progress shots. It’s a quick way to document the progress of a work of art. Here are a few examples:

Shared Light, in progress, by J. Kirk Richards, as seen on Instagram

You can see the work progresses from lower right to upper left, from the blank panel to an almost finished painting. Each of these three paintings is still in progress. And each is for a show that opens next month at the St. George Museum of Art. The show is a two man show: me and Brian Kershisnik. The opening reception is September 21st, and the artwork will be on display through the end of the year.

Prayer Flags, Nepal, in progress, by J. Kirk Richards, on Instagram

And here’s one last set. This is a monumental piece, as you can see in some of the photographs. There remains a lot of work, but hopefully you’ll see it finished in St George in a month.

Hosanna Shout, in progress, by J. Kirk Richards, on Instagram

Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, maybe I’ll be able to calm my Instagram activity and resume blogging again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2012 9:00 am

    I’m really enjoying seeing your progress Via instagram, seeing the progress from start to finish is inspiring and interesting. I can see that you work isn’t always seem to be ‘in control’ but you seem to shape it and make it work . . . don’t stop Instagraming!!

Leave a Reply

