Skip to content

Petition of the Blind

February 20, 2011

This painting has been in my studio for six years. I would work on it a little and then sit on it a lot.

Then I got a phone call about four months ago giving me a deadline. There is a show at the Church Museum of History and Art beginning in March which will feature large pieces by various artists. I’m delivering the painting to the museum this morning. Six years later it finally leaves the studio.

The painting is of the petition of two blind men to be healed–they called out and the crowd around them told them to be quiet. You can read the biblical account here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Eva Syphus permalink
    February 21, 2011 9:22 am

    I love this painting very, very much. I jumped of joy at the news; I am so glad it will be at the museum so I can see it often when I serve there. I will make sure that every one that comes to the museum will see it . As docent we love background information it helps us make the common viewer appreciate and understand the painting better. Thanks for sharing so much and keeping your “fan” up to date with your work.

    Eva

  2. February 21, 2011 11:13 am

    you are rapidly becoming the last word on religious art right now. and the carl bloch of the 21st century.

    both titles i think you should accept, even if it’s just between you and me.

  3. Melissa permalink
    March 3, 2011 8:16 pm

    This painting brings tears to my eyes. The kind of tears that come from true beauty.

Trackbacks

  1. Petition of the Blind « Kirk's Fine Art Blog

Leave a Reply

