Skip to content

Writing and Illustrating For Young Readers

February 8, 2011

Two years ago I emailed Will Terry, looking for a recommendation for a picture book writing conference. He suggested Writing and Illustrating For Young Readers. I splurged and attended, and I’m so glad I did. You’d think after a decade of making pictures, I’d know how to make a picture book–but there were so many new things I learned at the conference. It’s also a great place to make great connections–which I have found to be even more important in the publishing world than in the art world. It was at the WIFYR that I connected with my critique group, the Brotique, some of whom have been published as a direct result of connections made at WIFYR.

The WIFYR faculty consists of successful people in the industry, including visiting agents and editors, who visit the illustration class and give feedback. This year, I will be assisting visiting illustrator Kevin Hawkes in the illustration class. Kevin is the artist behind more than twenty-five published picture books, and they are delightful! Sign up for the class–it will definitely be worth it.

Full Disclosure #1: If it sounds like I’m trying to sell you on this conference, it’s because I am. It’s partly my responsibility to fill this class, and I want to make sure the class is full and worth Kevin’s valuable time!
Full Disclosure #2: I wouldn’t be doing this if I had any doubts that WIFYR will be worth my time and yours. It’s totally worth it!
Full Disclosure #3: Full tuition for the class is $480, afternoon only tuition is $130.
Full Disclosure #4: Comparable classes on the east or west coast would cost $2000.
Full Disclosure #5: There are other classes besides Kevin’s, including classes for beginning picturebook writers, advanced picture book writers, middle grade and young adult writers, etc.

Let me know if you have any questions about the conference, and if you’re sitting on the fence, let me pull you over to my side:)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

