Skip to content

Christ Among the Lepers

January 16, 2011

Christ Among the Lepers -- Click on the image for a larger version

I painted this piece for my own church meetinghouse. I worked on it all through 2010. We had a little unveiling this evening. I’m not sure if the painting is 100% finished, so if you see me in the hallway at church with a paintbrush and palette in hand, you’ll know why:)

Because it was intended for a church meetinghouse, the approach was very traditional–to some it will be obvious that I’ve tried to approximate a Carl Bloch painting. To me it’s obvious how much more control and patience Carl Bloch had than I have.

The painting is first and foremost about healing. Secondly it’s a juxtaposition of characters–those who need healing, those who heal, those who follow the healer, and those who stand outside and watch.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 10:15 pm

    i’ve never been so sorry to attend meetings in a different chapel.

    this is truly marvelous. i’m so glad i know you.

  2. Sara Lyn permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:17 am

    I can see the Carl Bloch influence. (I love Carl Bloch.) But I have always loved your own style. This is a gorgeous painting. I can’t wait to see it in person! (That will probably be awhile, though.) Thanks for sharing in a place where I could see it now.

  3. Eva Syphus permalink
    January 18, 2011 9:53 am

    I love your painting of Christ among the lepers. Could I have the address of your chapel so I could go see it in real? I guess if you publish the address you’ll have a crowed at church every Sunday.

  4. February 28, 2011 8:54 pm

    Leonardo da Vinci said, “Art is never finished, only abandoned.” This painting is beautiful! Will you have prints available?

  5. June 18, 2011 2:21 pm

    Absolutely beautiful! Well done!!

Leave a Reply

