Skip to content

Business of Art – Kanab

November 30, 2010

Every year Dixie College puts on a Business of Art professional workshop conference in Southern Utah. This year, I was invited to present on the topic of “Running Your Business”–specifically pricing your artwork and keeping your artwork organized. It was a fun event, well organized, and informative.

Amy Tolk Richards at the Business of Art weekend

I promised I would post some files for everyone who attended my class. These are a few weeks late in coming, but here they are.

The first one is a pricing chart.

Art Pricing Chart

It basically a quick-reference chart that I can glance at in two seconds and find a base price for my paintings. I just multiply the two dimensions of my painting and find where it fits on this chart. For example, a 10″x10″ painting would cost about $1800 this year. I might adjust it up or down a little depending on much detail it has, how much time it took to paint, how fancy the frame is, etc. I might adjust it up significantly if there are a lot of detailed figures in the painting, or if the paintings are going to a gallery on the East or West coast. There are many different systems used to price artwork. The point I made at the conference was you should pick a system and try to stick to it, and gradually raise your prices over time. Click here to download the chart.

 

Senator Bob Bennet and his wife presented at the conference. It was fun to hear about some of the great artwork they had inherited from parents and grandparents, including an Avard Fairbanks piece.

The next download-able document is an organizational spreadsheet. This is particularly useful when you have a lot of paintings to keep track of. There may be fancier spreadsheets out there–this is just one that Amy and I have developed over the years. (I’ve changed a lot of the information and removed most of the prices to protect the innocent:) I recommend assigning a number to each work of art starting with one and counting up. Be sure to put this number (it’s pink on my chart), the title of the painting (and possibly the “opus number” if you have one) on everything associated with that particular work of art: the work itself, each transparency and slide, etc. Then you can always refer back to this chart and get any information you need. Download the chart here.

Record of Artworks

 

The last file here is the placard I glue to the back of each painting. You can see I’ve highlighted in pink the number (#1) that corresponds to the organizational chart. The placard also includes the title and opus number of the artwork, copyright information, lighting information, and curatorial information.

Information Attached to Artwork

Download a sample placard here to use as a reference to create your own.

 

Donna Poulton, Curator of Utah and Western Art at the University of Utah Museum of Fine Arts, presents at the Business of Art conference

If you have any questions about pricing artwork and keeping organized that I’ve failed to answer here, please make a comment on this blog entry, and I’ll give you my thoughts on the subject. Thanks to Kathy Cieslewicz from Dixie and everybody else who helped put the conference together!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 9:05 am

    Thanks for this. For me, one of the biggest hurdles of trying to be an artist is the organizing and business. I really appreciate it when people who know what they’re doing share good information with all of us who…. don’t yet.

    Hey I really like the painting of Christ on this page – the framed one below – you have a great style.

  2. December 2, 2010 2:10 pm

    This Article Very Nice , Thank You For Sharing information,Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. Pricing Artwork Part 2 « Kirk's Fine Art Blog

Leave a Reply

