Skip to content

Continuing Art Class

September 6, 2010

I’m kind of ashamed to admit that only a few weeks ago I had never really gone out in nature to paint a plein air landscape. I’d done landscapes in the studio many times, thinking that it wouldn’t be possible for me to paint anything worthwhile in a single sitting, with an alla prima approach.

But now I’m converted. There is a beautiful looseness that’s forced on you when you paint on site. I took my Bridge Academy students down to an artists’ retreat at my Redmond Studio. Here are some photos from our retreat, including my three little plein air landscapes:

Plein Air Painting in Rural Redmond, Utah

Plein Air Painting in Rural Redmond, Utah

Plein Air 1 (Old Brick House, Redmond)

Plein Air 2 (Redmond Farm)


Plein Air 3 (Old Farm House, Redmond)

I have really enjoyed teaching at the Bridge Academy, but it turns out the Bridge Academy is going on hiatus. And so, I will continue my class outside of the Bridge Academy. We will meet four times a month. The first Wednesday, we will meet at my home studio in Provo and focus on how to finish a painting and make it gallery ready. The second and third Saturdays of each month, we will meet at the Springville drawing session to hone our figure drawing/painting skills. The fourth weekend of each month, we will meet at my Redmond studio for a retreat, similar to the one represented in these photos, to work on larger, multifigure paintings and plein air landscapes. Email me if you have an interest in taking this class.

And here are a few final photos of our little retreat.

Working in the Redmond Studio

Working in the Redmond Studio

Working in the Redmond Studio

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 7:34 am

    Kirk, That looks like a great activity. I really like this blog.

  2. Dale Thomas Jensen permalink
    May 19, 2013 2:03 pm

    What a joy to find this page of your blog! I am a Redmond native and lived there until I was 18, at which time I moved to Cedar City to attend college. The photos and paintings stir such memories of my youth. I took art lessons, primarily oil painting, from Etna Larson of Salina, who taught in home, but in the summer would use an empty store in Redmond as a teaching studio.

Leave a Reply

