Skip to content

New Acquisitions of Christ Images

June 3, 2012

Since it’s Sunday, I thought I’d share a few recent additions to our art collection–specifically Christ images. (By the way, I’m interested in gathering more Christ imagery for our collection. If you have something you think I might be interested in, let me know!)

The first is a hand-crafted pencil box, built by my friend Dallan Wright. He doesn’t usually include the image on the box–he did that especially for me. I love it.

Pencil box with Christ image, by Dallan Wright. All copyrights reserved by the artist.

The next is a painting by Greg Newbold. Greg is known for his stylized illustrations that have graced, among other things, the pages of many beautiful picture books. These days, he’s doing a lot of stunning landscape work as well. I persuaded him to something a little bit different for me. Thanks Greg!

Cristo Redentor, by Greg Newbold. All copyrights reserved by the artist.

This next one is also stepping out of character for the artist. Ben Hammond is known for his detailed bronze sculptures, but he took some time out to paint a sketch of Christ for me. Thank you, Ben!

Christ sketch by Ben Hammond. All copyrights reserved by the artist.

Last, but not least, this Erasmo Fuentes Christus bronze was my birthday present this year. Beautiful work, Erasmo. Thank you!

Christus, by Erasmo Fuentes. All copyrights reserved by the artist.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. gregnewbold permalink
    June 3, 2012 9:26 pm

    Very cool Kirk. I am proud to be in your collection and we enjoy the piece of yours that is hanging in our entry every day!

  2. June 6, 2012 11:44 am

    Thanks for sharing the images of Christ! I have done a few paintings of Christ recently if you’re interested. (I used to be in your class at the bridge)

  3. September 3, 2012 3:48 am

    What wonderful additions to your collection. I have often wondered, are there any generalized places to look, beyond Deseret Books, which never has much I like, for non-artists to find works like these? I would love prints of several of these paintings (I would truly love an original, but I am no where near having the kind of money that original artwork costs.)

    I remarried about a year and a half ago, and I really would like to fill our home with more than just “generic” artwork, from large mainstream stores. Since I don’t live in Utah, there are not many galleries that show LDS artwork, and since it is so rare, I wouldn’t know how to be kept updated so that I would know when one came to town.

    I don’t know if my complete inability to create visual art means I am missing something self evident, but if I don’t ask, I will stay just as ignorant.

    Julia
    poetrysansonions.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,105 other followers