Skip to content

You’ve Got To Visit Nashville…

January 27, 2012

Downtown Nashville

I go to Nashville on a regular basis. My wife’s parents and her sister’s family are there. We used to live there and work there too. Many of my clients live there.

This post is to share some of my favorite secret spots. No, not the Ryman or 12th and Porter, which I would certainly recommend for all you music fans. Since this is a visual artist’s blog, these places are geared toward the artist/collector. Here they are:

1. LIEPER’S FORK ANTIQUES AND SHOPS.

Liepers Fork Antiques

An exquisite European marble sculpture for sale at Serenite Maison in Liepers Fork, TN.

A fifteen minute drive outside of Franklin, Tennessee, is a small, historic town called Lieper’s Fork. It’s worth the drive–nestled in the rural rolling hills of greater Nashville–past picturesque barns, horses, stone walls, and white fences. I used to go to Lieper’s Fork to visit a specific store. There was a guy who salvaged all kinds of antique architectural elements–pillars, hardware, windows, doors–and resold them at really reasonable prices. Unfortunately he’s gone now, but here are three shops worth visiting: Serenite Maison, where I was sorely tempted by the beautiful marble sculpture in the picture above. The Maison has some gorgeous antiques–not dirt cheap, but if it were my store, I’d price things similarly. Also, Leiper’s Creek Gallery has some nice work by current artists. And if you’re interested in rare books, check out Yoeman’s in the Fork.

2. PRESERVATION STATION

Old knob from Preservation Station, Nashville

An old knob and keyhole plate from Preservation Station.

Since my architectural salvage guy disappeared from Lieper’s Fork, I went on a hunt to find a similar place in Nashville. I found it at Preservation Station. The place has lots of treasures. I purchased some old hardware, like this knob, to finish off some of my rennovation projects in Redmond.

3. THE FUGITIVE ART CENTER

Fugitive Art Center studio window

The outside window of my old studio space in downtown Nashville.

I stopped to visit the Fugitive Art Center for sentimental reasons. It’s an old, damp and musty building where I spent two of my early years as a painter. This is where I put in my time, in a barely climate controlled dive, creating some of my favorite pieces, including Angel, Grey Day Golgotha, and the Five Prepared. This is where I brought my daughter Maegan to do her first painting while Amy was in the Vanderbilt hospital with our second baby.

4. LEQUIRE GALLERY

LeQuire Gallery

LeQuire Gallery show.

I had the pleasure of meeting sculptor Alan LeQuire and his lovely wife Andree at their gallery and studio. Alan is pretty much an institution in Nashville. He sculpted the giant Athena at the Nashville Parthenon. I loved the art in the gallery–very talented and expressive artists–definitely worth seeing. I also picked up the new drawing book, Lessons in Classical Drawing by Juliette Aristides. Some of the pieces from the book were on display at the gallery.

5. THE TOLK RESIDENCE

Cherubim and a Flaming Sword

Cherubim and a Flaming Sword, by J. Kirk Richards

Of course if you’re going to Nashville, you’ll want to see some of my paintings, right? Stop in at the Tolk’s house. There are ten original paintings at the house right now, including Cherubim and a Flaming Sword. The Tolks are always excited to show visitors their art collection. Seriously–stop in.

Fugitive Art Center, Nashville

J. Kirk Richards in front of the old studio entry at the Fugitive Art Center.

Well, I could go on and on, but I’ve got to get back to work. Thanks for taking a glimpse at my secret hideouts when I’m home away from home in Nashville.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Adam permalink
    January 27, 2012 4:43 pm

    I’ve seen the Tolk Residence collection. Very impressive. I’m willing to have an Abel residence collection. Always open to your fans. Just sayin.

  2. Jennifer Slack :) permalink
    January 27, 2012 9:17 pm

    Thanks for sharing. Just love your stuff and the Spirit it brings. Life is good. Gotta see your new “hide-out” here.

  3. July 19, 2012 9:34 pm

    I loved the tour. Thanks for sharing. That is so inspiring.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,098 other followers