Skip to content

Portrait of My Daughter

August 24, 2011

 

I finished the portraits of my daughter and son. Yes, Amy was happy for the birthday present! And I am happy to have finally painted my children.

Here’s a fast-motion youtube video of one of the portraits. Also, folioacademy asked me to create a step-by-step demo video with detailed instructions, for anyone out there interested in learning to paint a portrait like this on your own.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 9:35 am

    I absolutely loved this instructional video, Kirk. Very well done. I learned so much by looking over your shoulder. Is there some place I can get a list of your color palette and such? I hope you do more in the future.

  2. Mark Robison permalink
    August 29, 2011 9:09 am

    great portrait, i love to watch you paint, even if it is at the speed of light….

  3. simygartz permalink
    August 29, 2011 12:52 pm

    that’s so fun to watch. thanks!

  4. October 12, 2011 9:29 am

    So beautiful!

  5. December 30, 2011 11:42 am

    I should be working, but I found your blog instead. How ya doin’ Kirk? Was that you playing piano on that video? Very great video. You are amazingly talented!

  6. Patricia M. Jacobson permalink
    March 13, 2012 12:24 pm

    Would you mind sharing your recipe for your oil painting medium?

    • March 13, 2012 12:27 pm

      Sure! 1/3 venice turpentine, 1/3 distilled turpentine, 1/3 stand oil. Say hi to everybody at FWAFA!

      • Patricia M. Jacobson permalink
        June 15, 2012 11:10 am

        You might like to know that 6 of the students that you worked with during the painting workshop are now off to major in art at various universities from N.Y. to Santa Fe, NM. You had a tremendous impact on them and I thank you!

  7. September 3, 2012 3:54 am

    I agree that I hope you do more portraits. You capture far more than just your daughter’s photograph in paint.

    Julia
    poetrysansonions.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,097 other followers